Prime Video reporting for Channels partners - Prime Video Tech Docs

Prime Video reporting for Channels partners

Last updated 2025-02-06

This topic outlines some basic information about the business reporting offered by Prime Video Channels. The information and links refer to reports available through Prime Video Slate, either through frontend UI or API.

There are 3 different levels of reporting:

  • Channels or Contractual (available to all)
  • Premium (only available in the US and dependent on your licensing agreement with Amazon)
  • Daily Anonymized reports (available globally, at the customer level with an encrypted customer ID; mainly provided to Tier 1 partners)

Examples of each report and definitions of their attributes are provided in the following sections. You can also review the metrics on this page to build your own calculations and use the reported data.

Contractual Subscriptions report

This report shows at an aggregate level the number of new, cancelled, and end of week/month subscriptions for the month. Monthly reporting is more accurate in terms of noise management; you can get a more definite signal on whether the subscriber actually gains access to the content versus same-day cancelations.

The attributes shown in a Contractual Subscriptions report are defined in the following table.

Attribute name

Attribute type

Data type

Definition

Required?

Sample

Report Year

Dimension

Date-Year

Year of the report.

Yes

2017

Report Start

Dimension

Date

Start date of the report—Inclusive.

Yes

11/29/2017

Report End

Dimension

Date

End date of the report—Inclusive.

Yes

12/5/2017

Offer ID

Dimension

String

The unique ID attached to the billing amount and subscription category. This ID is unique for all the plans from each partner.

Yes

B099ABCDCE-1M00000000

Subscription

Dimension

String

Detailed name for each plan. Note that the name value is subject to change without notification and is not immutable.

Yes

ABC+

Billing Amount

Dimension

Decimal

The billing amount attached to the Offer ID.

Yes

3.99

Subscription Category

Dimension

String

The category of the subscription plan, either Free Trial (FT) or Hard Offer (HO).

Yes

HO

Active Subscriptions

Measure

Number

Total number of subscriptions that have started before the Report End date, and have had an Active status at one point in the reporting period.

No

39807

Week End Subscriptions

Measure

Number

Number of subscriptions that were entitled beyond the Report End date.

No

34531

New Subscriptions

Measure

Number

Number of new subscriptions that were started in the reporting period. This does not include FT to HO conversions.

No

1500

Cancelled Subscriptions

Measure

Number

Total number of subscriptions that have a Cancelled status past the Report End date.

No

320

AR-Off Subscriptions

Measure

Number

Total number of Active subscriptions that have turned off their Auto Renew.

No

187

Estimated Charged Customers

Measure

Number

Estimated number of customers that have been charged for their subscription by the end of the month. (This field is only included in the monthly version of the report.)

No

34223

Estimated Late Charged Customers

Measure

Number

Estimated number of customers whose charges have come through from previous payment periods. (This field is only included in the monthly version of the report.

No

2332

Contractual Content Usage report

This report compiles weekly and monthly Video ON Demand (VOD) content usage. It shows title-level viewership values for VOD and Just After Broadcast (JAB). (A JAB is a VOD asset for live events that Prime Video enables 15 minutes after the live event vends. It’s not to be confused with an asset provided by the partner for replays.)

The attributes shown in a Contractual Content Usage report are defined in the following table.

Attribute name

Attribute type

Data type

Definition

Required?

Sample

Report Start

Dimension

Date

Start date of the report—Inclusive.

Yes

10/6/2018

Report End

Dimension

Date

End date of the report—Inclusive.

Yes

10/13/2018

Offer Id

Dimension

String

A unique plan ID for the subscription.

Yes

B099ABCDCE-1M00000000

Subscription

Dimension

String

Detailed name for each plan. Note that the name value is subject to change without notification and is not immutable.

Yes

ABC+

Vendor SKU

Dimension

String

Associated vendor SKU of the content assets.

Yes

AMC_1000ML_US

Content Type

Dimension

String

Either TV or Movie.

Yes

TV

Series or Movie Title

Dimension

String

The title name of the content. “Series Name” if Content Type is TV; otherwise, “Movie Name”.

Yes

Ghostbusters

Season Number

Dimension

Number

If the Content Type is TV, then this number denotes the season number. Null if the Content Type is Movie.

No

1

Episode Number

Dimension

Number

If the Content Type is TV, then this number denotes the episode number. Null if the Content Type is Movie.

No

1

Episode Name

Dimension

String

The episode name of the content, if the Content Type is TV. Null if the Content Type is Movie.

No

Pilot

Content Group

Dimension

String

The content group that the content is streamed from, either 3P_SUBS, FREE, or PRIME.

Yes

3P_SUBS

Total Number of Streams

Measure

Number

Total number of unique valid streams generated in the reporting period for the content and subscription plan.

No

1513

Total Customers Streamed

Measure

Number

Total number of unique customers that streamed the content through the subscription plan in the reporting period.

No

1020

Total Minutes Streamed

Measure

Decimal

Sum of minutes streamed in the reporting period for the non-ad content through the subscription plan.

No

44121.43

Total Ad Minutes Streamed

Measure

Decimal

Sum of minutes streamed in the reporting period for the ad content through the subscription plan.

No

44121.43

Contractual Live Streaming Usage report

This report compiles weekly and monthly viewership for both live and linear events.

The attributes shown in a Contractual Live Streaming Usage report are defined in the following table.

Attribute name

Attribute type

Data type

Definition

Required?

Sample

Report Start

Dimension

Date

Start date of the report—Inclusive.

Yes

10/11/2020

Report End

Dimension

Date

End date of the report—Inclusive.

Yes

10/18/2020

Offer ID

Dimension

String

The unique plan ID for the subscription.

Yes

B099ABCDCE-1M00000000

Subscription

Dimension

String

Detailed name for each plan. Note that the name value is subject to change without notification and is not immutable.

Yes

ABC+

Live Channel ID

Dimension

String

Unique ID for the live channel.

Yes

amzn1.dv.gti.4e9fdac8-1793-42fv-a7a2-cbf933201b7

Channel Name

Dimension

String

The name of the live channel in the subscription plan.

Yes

ABC Channel

Total Number of Streams

Measure

Number

Total number of unique valid streams generated in the reporting period for the content and subscription plan.

No

685

Total Customers Streamed

Measure

Number

Total number of unique customers that streamed the live content in the reporting period through the subscription plan.

No

398

Total Minutes Streamed

Measure

Decimal

Sum of minutes streamed for the live content in the reporting period through the subscription plan.

No

50648.213

Total Ad Minutes Streamed

Measure

Decimal

Sum of minutes streamed in the reporting period for the ad content through the subscription plan.

No

44121.43

Episode Name

Dimension

String

The episode name of the content, if TV. Null if the content is Movie.

No

Pilot

Contractual Conversion and Retention report

This weekly or monthly report shows, from launch, the initial conversion and 12-month retention numbers per offer.

The attributes shown in a Contractual Conversion and Retention report are defined in the following table.

Attribute name

Attribute type

Data type

Definition

Required?

Sample

Subscription Start Period (SSP)

Dimension

Date-Year

The start month for the cohort of customers represented by this Offer ID.

Yes

11/30/2021

Offer ID

Dimension

String

The unique plan ID for the subscription.

Yes

B099ABCDCE-1M00000000

Offer Name

Dimension

String

Detailed name for each plan. Note that the name value is subject to change without notification and is not immutable.

Yes

ABC+

Billing Type Code

Dimension

String

The billing type code of the subscription plan, either Free Trial (FT) or Hard Offer (HO).

Yes

FT

Total Starts

Measure

Number

Total number of signups for the subscription plan within the month, including the SSP.

Yes

29753

FT Conversion

Measure

Percentage

Calculated as the percentage of total signups since SSP that converted from FT to HO.

No

75.9

Month 1 Retention

Measure

Percentage

Calculated as the percentage of total signups since SSP that are retained from Month 0 to Month 1.

No

50.5

Month 2 Retention

Measure

Percentage

Calculated as the percentage of total signups since SSP that are retained from Month 1 to Month 2.

No

40.3

Month 3 Retention

Measure

Percentage

Calculated as the percentage of total signups since SSP that are retained from Month 2 to Month 3.

No

32.7

Month 4 Retention

Measure

Percentage

Calculated as the percentage of total signups since SSP that are retained from Month 3 to Month 4.

No

26.9

Month 5 Retention

Measure

Percentage

Calculated as the percentage of total signups since SSP that are retained from Month 4 to Month 5.

No

22.5

Month 6 Retention

Measure

Percentage

Calculated as the percentage of total signups since SSP that are retained from Month 5 to Month 6.

No

19.4

Month 7 Retention

Measure

Percentage

Calculated as the percentage of total signups since SSP that are retained from Month 6 to Month 7.

No

16.5

Month 8 Retention

Measure

Percentage

Calculated as the percentage of total signups since SSP that are retained from Month 7 to Month 8.

No

14.1

Month 9 Retention

Measure

Percentage

Calculated as the percentage of total signups since SSP that are retained from Month 8 to Month 9.

No

11.6

Month 10 Retention

Measure

Percentage

Calculated as the percentage of total signups since SSP that are retained from Month 9 to Month 10.

No

9.4

Month 11 Retention

Measure

Percentage

Calculated as the percentage of total signups since SSP that are retained from Month 10 to Month 11.

No

7.8

Month 12 Retention

Measure

Percentage

Calculated as the percentage of total signups since SSP that are retained from Month 11 to Month 12.

No

6.5

Premium Device-Level Viewership report

This report shows weekly or monthly viewership data, aggregated by the platform the customer was viewing content on. (This data can be replicated using the Persistent Customer ID Video On Demand report.)

The attributes shown in a Premium Device-Level Viewership report are defined in the following table.

Attribute name

Attribute type

Data type

Definition

Required?

Sample

Report Start

Dimension

Date

Start date of the report—Inclusive.

Yes

10/6/2018

Report End

Dimension

Date

End date of the report—Inclusive.

Yes

10/13/2018

Offer Id

Dimension

String

A unique plan ID for the subscription.

Yes

B099ABCDCE-1M00000000

Subscription

Dimension

String

Detailed name for each plan. Note that the name value is subject to change without notification and is not immutable.

Yes

ABC+

Vendor SKU

Dimension

String

Associated vendor SKU of the content assets.

Yes

AMC_1000ML_US

Content Type

Dimension

String

Either TV or Movie.

Yes

TV

Series or Movie Title

Dimension

String

The title name of the content. “Series Name” if Content Type is TV; otherwise, “Movie Name”.

Yes

Ghostbusters

Season Number

Dimension

Number

If the Content Type is TV, then this number denotes the season number. Null if the Content Type is Movie.

No

1

Episode Number

Dimension

Number

If the Content Type is TV, then this number denotes the episode number. Null if the Content Type is Movie.

No

1

Episode Name

Dimension

String

The episode name of the content, if the Content Type is TV. Null if the Content Type is Movie.

No

Pilot

Content Group

Dimension

String

The content group that the content is streamed from, either 3P_SUBS, FREE, or PRIME.

Yes

3P_SUBS

Total Number of Streams

Measure

Number

Total number of unique valid streams generated in the reporting period for the content and subscription plan.

No

1513

Total Customers Streamed

Measure

Number

Total number of unique customers that streamed the content through the subscription plan in the reporting period.

No

1020

Total Minutes Streamed

Measure

Decimal

Sum of minutes streamed in the reporting period for the non-ad content through the subscription plan.

No

44121.43

Total Ad Minutes Streamed

Measure

Decimal

Sum of minutes streamed in the reporting period for the ad content through the subscription plan.

No

44121.43

Premium Engagement Scorecard report

This report shows a variety of engagement data, including subscription lengths and cancellations, active subscriptions, the average number of content assets streamed by type, and how the number of streamers and streams compare on weekends versus weekdays.

The attributes shown in a Premium Engagement Scorecard report are defined in the following table.

Attribute name

Attribute type

Data type

Definition

Required?

Sample

Report Start

Dimension

Date

Start date of the report—Inclusive.

Yes

11/1/21

Report End

Dimension

Date

End date of the report—Inclusive.

Yes

11/30/21

Subscription

Dimension

String

Detailed name for each plan. Note that the name value is subject to change without notification and is not immutable.

Yes

Discovery+ Ad-Supported

Length of Subscription

Dimension

String

Total length of the subscription in months, with a minimum of 1 month and maximum of 12+ months

Yes

0-1months

Content Group

Dimension

String

The offer group with which the customer streamed the content, such as FREE or 3P_SUBS.

Yes

3P_SUBS

Paid Subscriptions

Measure

Number

Total active Hard Offer (HO) subscriptions in the reporting period.

Yes

161435

Cancellations

Measure

Number

Total number of HO subscriptions that are cancelled by the end of the reporting period.

No

27656

Active Subscriptions

Measure

Number

Total number of Paid/HO customers that have been active in the last 30 days.

No

129676

Streamers

Measure

Number

Number of unique customers with Paid/HO subscriptions that streamed in the reporting period.

No

129673

Streams

Measure

Number

Number of customers with Paid/HO subscriptions that streamed in the reporting period.

No

129673

Weekend Streams

Measure

Number

Number of unique customers with Paid/HO subscriptions that streamed during the weekends of the reporting period.

No

3437751

Weekday Streams

Measure

Number

Number of unique customers with Paid/HO subscriptions that streamed during the weekdays of the reporting period.

No

1075905

Average Number of Titles

Measure

Number

Average number of titles customers with Paid/HO subscriptions streamed in the reporting period.

No

2361846

Average Number of Episodes

Measure

Number

Average number of episodes customers with Paid/HO subscriptions streamed in the reporting period.

No

4.6

Average Number of Movies

Measure

Number

Average number of movies customers with Paid/HO subscriptions streamed in the reporting period.

No

18.6

VOD Hours Streamed

Measure

Decimal

Sum of hours all customers with Paid/HO subscriptions streamed non-ad content in the reporting period.

No

23342.23

VOD Ad Hours Streamed

Measure

Decimal

Sum of hours all customers with Paid/HO subscriptions streamed ads in the reporting period.

No

34.2

Premium First-and-Last VOD Title report

This report compiles data about which titles customers chose to stream and when (such as during a free trial period), and whether those streams coincided with a conversion to a subscription offer.

The attributes shown in a Premium First-and-Last VOD Title report are defined in the following table.

Attribute name

Attribute type

Data type

Definition

Required?

Sample

Report Start

Dimension

Date

Start date of the report—Inclusive.

Yes

11/29/2021

Report End

Dimension

Date

End date of the report—Inclusive.

Yes

12/5/2021

Benefit Name

Dimension

String

Detailed name for each plan. Note that the name value is subject to change without notification and is not immutable.

Yes

ABC+

Stream Type

Dimension

String

Classification between Video On Demand (VOD) or Live streams.

Yes

VOD

Content Type

Dimension

String

Either TV or Movie.

Yes

TV

Platform

Dimension

String

The device type with which the customer streamed the content. The devices are categorized by the Prime Video Playback team as “Living Room Devices”, “Mobile Devices”, “Web”, or “Others”.

Yes

Living Room Devices

Vendor SKU

Dimension

Varchar

Associated vendor SKU of the content assets.

Yes

103469_013_US

Series or Movie Name

Dimension

Number

The title name of the content. “Series Name” if Content Type is TV; otherwise, “Movie Name”.

Yes

How It’s Made

Season Number

Dimension

Number

If the Content Type is TV, this number denotes the season number. Null if the Content Type is Movie.

No

1

FT First Title Streamed

Measure

Number

Total number of Free Trial (FT) customers who streamed the content as their first title with the new subscription.

No

HO First Title Streamed

Measure

Number

Total number of “direct to Hard Offer (HO)” customers who streamed the content as their first title with the new subscription.

No

87

Conversion First Title Streamed

Measure

Number

Total number of customers in the reporting period who streamed the content after converting their subscription from FT to HO.

No

9

Last Title Streamed

Measure

Number

Total number of customers in the reporting period who streamed the content as their last title with the subscription.

No

1

AR-Off Last Title Streamed

Measure

Number

Total number of customers in the reporting period who streamed the content as their last title before turning off Auto-Renew (AR).

No

20

Percentage of Total Conversions

Measure

Decimal

Percentage of Conversion First Title Streamed customers out of the total conversions in the reporting period.

No

.323

Percentage of Total Cancels

Measure

Decimal

Percentage of Last Title Streamed customers out of the total cancellations in the reporting period.

No

.344

Persistent-ID Subscriptions report

This report shows a transactional record when a customer:

  • goes Active and gains entitlement to Channel content
    OR
  • is Cancelled and loses entitlement to content

No other statuses (such as Suspended, Winback, or Converted) are currently captured in this report.

The attributes shown in a Persistent-ID Subscriptions report are defined in the following table.

Attribute name

Attribute type

Data type

Definition

Required?

Sample

Report Date

Dimension

Date-Year

Start date of the report—Inclusive

Yes

12/11/2021

Marketplace

Dimension

String

The marketplace ID in which the stream was generated.

Yes

US

Customer ID

Dimension

String

Encrypted ID of the customer that streamed the content.

Yes

amzn1.account.AFQJKDJYJVJL4VPNEFIV43BTSIJQ

Offer

Dimension

String

A unique plan ID for the subscrption.

Yes

B08ZYRH8JR-1M00000000

Billing Type

Dimension

String

The category of the subscription plan, either Free Trial (FT) or Hard Offer (HO).

Yes

HO

Payment Amount

Dimension

Decimal

The billing amount of the Offer ID.

Yes

4.99

Status

Measure

String

Status of the subscription for the customer on the Report Date.

Yes

Active

Status Start Time

Dimension

Number

Start time for the status.

No

12/11/2021 12:20

Status End Time

Dimension

Number

End time for the status.

No

Subscription

Dimension

String

Detailed name for each plan. Note that the name value is subject to change without notification and is not immutable.

No

ABC+

Persistent-ID Viewership report

This is a version of the daily anonymized report, but is vended with all the data in a month. Note that, if you download it from the front end, it’s usually impossible to open because there is too much data.

The attributes shown in a Persistent-ID Viewership report are defined in the following table.

Attribute name

Attribute type

Data type

Definition

Required?

Sample

Report Start

Dimension

Date

Start date of the report—Inclusive.

Yes

12/11/2021

Report End

Dimension

Date

End date of the report—Inclusive.

Yes

12/12/2021

Marketplace ID

Dimension

Number

The marketplace ID in which the stream was generated.

Yes

1

Marketplace Description

Dimension

String

The marketplace in which the stream was generated.

Yes

US

Offer ID

Dimension

Varchar

A unique plan ID for the subscription.

Yes

B08ZYRH8JR-0M00000000

Offer Name

Dimension

String

Detailed name for each plan. Note that the name value is subject to change without notification and is not immutable.

Yes

Discovery+ Ad-Supported

Encrypted Customer ID

Dimension

Varchar

Encrypted ID of the customer that streamed the content.

Yes

amzn1.account.AEIAVT2KITOQR5GCCLBCG2O

Stream Start Timestamp

Dimension

Date

Stream datetime.

Yes

12/11/2021 12:20

Connection Type

Dimension

String

Connection used by the customer to stream the content.

No

unknown

Stream Type

Dimension

String

Classification between Video-On-Demand (VOD) or Live streams.

Yes

VOD

Device Class

Dimension

String

The device type with which the customer streamed the content. The devices are categorized by the Prime Video Playback team as “Living Room Devices”, “Mobile Devices”, “Web”, or “Others”.

No

Living Room Devices

Device Subclass

Dimension

String

Granular categorization of the Mobile, Living Room, and Web devices

No

Game Console

DMA Geography

Dimension

Number

The 3-digit Geography Designated Market Area (DMA) of the area where the stream was generated.

No

539

Playback Method

Dimension

String

Playback method used for the stream.

Yes

online

Seconds Viewed

Measure

Decimal

Total number of seconds viewed by the customer in the session (of non-ad content).

Yes

2860.819

Ad Seconds Viewed

Measure

Decimal

Total number of seconds viewed by the customer (of ad content).

Yes

342

Content Type

Dimension

String

Either TV or Movie.

No

TV

Title Name

Dimension

String

The name of the content. “Series Name” if Content Type is TV; otherwise, “Movie Name”.

Yes

My 600-lb Life

Season Number

Dimension

String

If the Content Type is TV, then this number denotes the season number. Null if the Content Type is Movie.

No

2

Episode Number

Dimension

String

If the Content Type is TV, then this number denotes the episode number. Null if the Content Type is Movie.

No

1

Studio Name

Dimension

String

The name of the production studio.

Yes

discovery plus Journeys

Runtime Minutes

Dimension

Number

Runtime of the content viewed.

No

42

Live/Linear Channel Name

Dimension

String

The channel name would be populated for Live content.

No

Vendor SKU

Dimension

String

Associated vendor SKU of the content assets.

No

139426_001_US

Content Group

Dimension

String

The group that the content is streamed from, either 3P_SUBS, FREE, or PRIME.

Yes

3P_SUBS

Metrics definitions

The calculations in this section outline how Prime Video Channels (PVC) defines 9 of the key metrics used to evaluate subscription performance. All metrics are derived using the monthly version of the standard Contractual Subscriptions report in Slate, as shown in the following partial example.

A

B

C

D

E

F

G

H

I

J

K

L

1

Report
Year

Report
Start

Report
End

Offer
ID

Sub-
scription

Billing
Amount

Subscription
Category

Active
Subscriptions

Month End
Subscriptions

New
Subscriptions

Cancelled
Subscriptions

AR Off
Subscriptions

2

2022

5/1/22

5/31/22

ABC

SQUARERT-1

0

FT

132455

43023

139450

17382

4523

3

2022

5/1/22

5/31/22

DEF

SQUARERT-4

8.99

HO

62304

30203

0

1386

422

4

2022

5/1/22

5/31/22

GHI

SQUARERT-9

8.99

HO

1327735

1258343

24385

75849

13403

The numbered sections cover step-by-step instructions on how to calculate the key metrics using the CSV export provided by Slate. (For additional information, see the Daily Anonymized report FAQs at the bottom of this page.)

Summary of metrics

Section

Metrics

Sample partner

Formula


1

EOP Paid(HO) subs

1,288,546

SUM[Month End Subscriptions with Subscription type HO]

2

Paid (HO) Cancels

77,235

SUM[Cancelled Subscriptions with Subscription type HO]

3

Churn rate

6%

SUM[Cancelled Subscriptions with Subscription Category HO]/
[SUM[Month End Subscriptions with Subscription Category HO]
+ SUM[Cancelled Subscriptions with Subscription Category HO]]

4

FT starts

139,450

SUM[New Subscriptions with Subscription type FT]

5

HO starts

24,385

SUM[New Subscriptions with Subscription type HO] - (Direct-To-Pay + Winbacks)

6

Total starts

163,835

SUM[New Subscriptions] - FT Starts + Direct-To-Pay + Winbacks

7

Eop Conversion Ft→HO

95,718

FT-to-HO converts (not included in the Amazon report) =
EoP (current period) HO Subscriptions - EoP (last period) HO Subs
+ HO Cancellations - HO New Subscription (direct-to-paid starts + winbacks)

8

Conversion rate

85%

[EOP Conversions]/([EOP Conversions] + [FT Cancels])

9

Net Adds

42,868

SUM[New Subscriptions with Subscription type HO] + EOP Conversions - Paid (HO) Cancels

Section 1: End of Period (EOP) Paid Hard Offer (HO) Subs

HO subscriptions for the End of Period can be calculated by summing the Month End Subscriptions that have a Subscription Category of HO.

  1. Identify each row with HO as the Subscription Category.
    In this example, Column G - Rows 3 and 4 fit this criteria.
  2. Sum the Month End Subscriptions for the rows that have been identified.
    In this example, in Column I, sum just I3 and I4.

    The formula looks like this:
    EOP Paid Hard Offer Subscriptions = Total [Month End Subscriptions] where [Subscription Category] is “HO”

    In an Excel report, the highlighted cells would be summed.

    Sample calculation of EOP Paid (HO) subs, summing cells I-3 and I-4 of the provided example report

This example calculation of EOP Paid (HO) subs = 30,203 + 1,258,343 = 1,288,546

Section 2: EOP Paid Hard Offer (HO) Cancels

Hard Offer cancellations for the End of Period can be calculated by summing the Cancelled Subscriptions that have a Subscription Category of HO.

  1. Identify each row with HO as the Subscription Category.
    In this example, Column G - Rows 3 and 4 fit this criteria.
  2. Sum the Cancelled Subscriptions for the rows that have been identified.
    In this example, in Column K, sum just K3 and K4.

    The formula looks like this:
    EOP Paid (HO) Cancels = Total [Cancelled Subscriptions] where [Subscription Category] is “HO”

    In an Excel report, the highlighted cells would be summed.

    Sample calculation of Paid (HO) cancellations, summing cells K3 and K4 from the example report provided

This example calculation of Paid (HO) Cancels = 1,386 + 75,849 = 77,235

Section 3: Churn rate
Churn rate can be shown as the ratio of cancellations in relation to overall subscription changes.

  1. Identify each row with HO as the Subscription Category.
    In this example, Column G - Rows 3 and 4 fit this criteria.
  2. Sum the Cancelled Subscriptions for the rows that have been identified.
    In this example, in Column K, sum just K3 and K4.
  3. Sum the Month End Subscriptions for the rows that have been identified.
    In this example, for Column I, sum just J3 and J4.
  4. Put the Sum of Cancelled Subscriptions in the numerator and the Sum of Month End Subscriptions and Cancelled Subscriptions in the denominator. Multiply by 100 to obtain the percentage.

    The formula looks like this:

    Churn Rate = (Total [Cancelled Subscriptions])/(Total [Month End Subscriptions]+Total [Cancelled Subscriptions]) where Subscription Category is “HO”

    In the following Excel report, the fields highlighted in yellow are the Month End Subscriptions to be summed. The fields highlighted in blue are the Cancelled Subscriptions to be summed.

    Sample calculation spreadsheet highlighting the different columns and cells used in determining churn rate. The totals for the provided example report are explained below.

In the provided example, the churn rate is calculated as:

(1,386 + 75,849)/(30,203 + 1,258,343) + (1,386 + 75,849) = 0.06

Churn rate is normally depicted as a percent: 0.06 * 100 = 6%

Section 4: Free Trial (FT) starts

Free Trial starts can be calculated by summing the New Subscriptions that have a Subscription Category of FT.

  1. Identify each row with FT as the Subscription Category.
    In this example, Column G - Row 2 fits this criteria.
  2. Sum the New Subscriptions for the rows that have been identified.
    In this example, in Column J, only J2 fits the criteria. (Normally, this would be the sum of any rows that met the criteria of FT.)

    The formula looks like this:
    FT Starts = Total [New Subscriptions] where [Subscription Category] is “FT”

    In an Excel report, the highlighted cells would be summed.

    Sample Excel report, with the new subscriptions in the Free Trial (FT) category highlighted

In the provided example, since only one cell is categorized as FT, the total FT starts = 139,450

Section 5: Hard Offer (HO) Starts

HO starts can be calculated by summing the New Subscriptions that have a Subscription Category of HO.

  1. Identify each row with HO as the Subscription Category.
    In this example, Column G - Rows 3 and 4 fit this criteria.
  2. Sum the New Subscriptions for the rows that have been identified.
    In this example, in Column J, sum just J3 and J4.

    The formula looks like this:
    HO Starts = Total [New Subscriptions] where [Subscription Category] is “HO”

    In an Excel report, the highlighted cells would be summed.

    Sample Excel report of new subscriptions, with the cells containing HO subscriptions highlighted. The calculation values are described below.

This example of HO starts is calculated as 0 + 24,385 = 24,385

Section 6: Total starts
To calculate total starts using the standard Contractual Subscriptions monthly report:

  1. Sum the New Subscriptions column, regardless of Subscription Category.
    In this example, sum all 3 cells in Column J.

    The formula looks like this:
    Total Starts = Total [New Subscriptions]

    In an Excel report, the highlighted cells would be summed.

    Sample Excel calculation for total subscription starts. All cells in the New Subscriptions column are highlighted, and the total is explained below.

This example of total starts is calculated as 139,450 + 0 + 24,385 = 63,835

Section 7: End-of-period (EOP) conversions

For EOP conversions, Prime Video Channels extracts Free Trial (FT) to Hard Offer (HO) subscriptions. EOP HO subscriptions + HO cancellations provides the total HO subs that have been active in the period. Subtracting EOP HO subscriptions (from the previous period) and HO new subscriptions (that do not include FT to HO conversions) then provides the total number of conversions.

To calculate EOP conversions using the standard Contractual Subscriptions monthly report:

  1. Calculate EOP HO subscriptions as shown in Section 1 above, using the current period under review.
  2. Using the previous period’s data, use Section 1 again to calculate the previous period’s EOP HO subscriptions.
  3. Using Section 2 as shown above with the current period’s data, compute the HO cancellations.
  4. Using Section 5, compute the HO new subscriptions.
  5. Plug these 4 necessary variables into the EOP conversions equation.

    The formula looks like this:
    [EOP HO Subscriptions (Current)] - [EOP HO Subscriptions (Previous)] + [HO Cancellations] - [HO New Subscriptions]

Using the totals from the examples in this section, the end result for EOP conversions looks like this:

  1. From Section 1: EOP paid (HO) subs = 1,288,546
  2. Provided for this example, using Calculation 1: Previous EOP Paid (HO) subs = 1,245,678
  3. From Section 2: EOP paid (HO) cancels = 77,235
  4. From Section 5: HO starts = 24,385
  5. Example calculation of EOP conversions/Section 7 = 1,288,546 – 1,245,678 + 77,235 – 24,385 = 95,718

The following color key and screenshot identify the four calculations in this formula.

[EOP HO Subscriptions (Current)]

-

[EOP HO Subscriptions (Previous)]

+

[HO Cancellations]

-

[HO New Subscriptions]

Sample EOP Conversion calculation, made up of four previous formulas and sample calculations highlighted and distinguished by color. The example data is the same as that provided above the screenshot and color key table.

Section 8: Conversion rate

Conversion rate can be evaluated as the conversions at the end of period in relation to the eligible Free Trial (FT) subscriptions.

To calculate conversion rate using the standard Contractual Subscriptions monthly report:

  1. Compute the end-of-period (EOP) conversions using Section 7 above.
  2. Compute the FT cancels using Section 4 above.
    Sample report showing cancelled subscription rates. The cell that displays cancelled FT subscriptions is highlighted. The totals are the same as those provided in the example calculation in this section.
  3. Divide the two values using the EOP conversions as the numerator and the sum of EOP conversions and FT cancels as the denominator.
    The formula looks like this:
    Conversion Rate = [EOP Conversions] / ([EOP Conversions] + [FT Cancels])

Using the totals from the examples in this section, the end result for conversion rate looks like this:

  1. From Section 7 above: EOP conversions = 95,718
  2. From Section 4 above: FT cancels = 17,382
  3. Example calculation of conversion rate: 95,718 / (95,718 - 17,382) = .85 * 100 = 85%

Section 9: Net adds

Net adds can be defined by taking the total number of Hard Offer (HO) and Free Trial (FT) starts and subtracting all HO Cancels.

To calculate net adds using the standard Contractual Subscriptions monthly report:

  1. Compute the total HO starts using the formula in Section 5.
  2. Compute the number of end-of-period (EOP) conversions using the formula in Section 7.
  3. Compute the number of paid (HO) cancellations using the formula in Section 2.
  4. Subtract the number of HO cancellations from the total in step 3.

    The formula looks like this:

    Net Adds = [HO Starts] + [EOP Conversions] - [HO Cancels]

Using the totals from the examples in this section, the end result for net adds looks like this:

  1. From Section 5 above: HO starts = 24,385
  2. From Section 7 above: EOP conversions = 95,718
  3. From Section 2 above: EOP paid (HO) cancels = 77,235
  4. Example calculation of net adds: 24,385 + 95,718 - 77,235 = 42,868

General FAQs

Daily Anonymized report (DAR) FAQs

This section covers nuances of using daily Subscription reports, which contain unsettled data, versus available weekly and monthly reports. For details about using the weekly and monthly reports to effectively calculate key metrics and ensure greater data fidelity, see the Metrics definitions section above.

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