This topic outlines some basic information about the business reporting offered by Prime Video Channels. The information and links refer to reports available through Prime Video Slate, either through frontend UI or API.
There are 3 different levels of reporting:
- Channels or Contractual (available to all)
- Premium (only available in the US and dependent on your licensing agreement with Amazon)
- Daily Anonymized reports (available globally, at the customer level with an encrypted customer ID; mainly provided to Tier 1 partners)
Examples of each report and definitions of their attributes are provided in the following sections. You can also review the metrics on this page to build your own calculations and use the reported data.
Contractual Subscriptions report
This report shows at an aggregate level the number of new, cancelled, and end of week/month subscriptions for the month. Monthly reporting is more accurate in terms of noise management; you can get a more definite signal on whether the subscriber actually gains access to the content versus same-day cancelations.
The attributes shown in a Contractual Subscriptions report are defined in the following table.
Attribute name |
Attribute type |
Data type |
Definition |
Required? |
Sample |
Report Year |
Dimension |
Date-Year |
Year of the report. |
Yes |
2017 |
Report Start |
Dimension |
Date |
Start date of the report—Inclusive. |
Yes |
11/29/2017 |
Report End |
Dimension |
Date |
End date of the report—Inclusive. |
Yes |
12/5/2017 |
Offer ID |
Dimension |
String |
The unique ID attached to the billing amount and subscription category. This ID is unique for all the plans from each partner. |
Yes |
B099ABCDCE-1M00000000 |
Subscription |
Dimension |
String |
Detailed name for each plan. Note that the name value is subject to change without notification and is not immutable. |
Yes |
ABC+ |
Billing Amount |
Dimension |
Decimal |
The billing amount attached to the Offer ID. |
Yes |
3.99 |
Subscription Category |
Dimension |
String |
The category of the subscription plan, either Free Trial (FT) or Hard Offer (HO). |
Yes |
HO |
Active Subscriptions |
Measure |
Number |
Total number of subscriptions that have started before the Report End date, and have had an Active status at one point in the reporting period. |
No |
39807 |
Week End Subscriptions |
Measure |
Number |
Number of subscriptions that were entitled beyond the Report End date. |
No |
34531 |
New Subscriptions |
Measure |
Number |
Number of new subscriptions that were started in the reporting period. This does not include FT to HO conversions. |
No |
1500 |
Cancelled Subscriptions |
Measure |
Number |
Total number of subscriptions that have a Cancelled status past the Report End date. |
No |
320 |
AR-Off Subscriptions |
Measure |
Number |
Total number of Active subscriptions that have turned off their Auto Renew. |
No |
187 |
Estimated Charged Customers |
Measure |
Number |
Estimated number of customers that have been charged for their subscription by the end of the month. (This field is only included in the monthly version of the report.) |
No |
34223 |
Estimated Late Charged Customers |
Measure |
Number |
Estimated number of customers whose charges have come through from previous payment periods. (This field is only included in the monthly version of the report. |
No |
2332 |
Contractual Content Usage report
This report compiles weekly and monthly Video ON Demand (VOD) content usage. It shows title-level viewership values for VOD and Just After Broadcast (JAB). (A JAB is a VOD asset for live events that Prime Video enables 15 minutes after the live event vends. It’s not to be confused with an asset provided by the partner for replays.)
The attributes shown in a Contractual Content Usage report are defined in the following table.
Attribute name |
Attribute type |
Data type |
Definition |
Required? |
Sample |
Report Start |
Dimension |
Date |
Start date of the report—Inclusive. |
Yes |
10/6/2018 |
Report End |
Dimension |
Date |
End date of the report—Inclusive. |
Yes |
10/13/2018 |
Offer Id |
Dimension |
String |
A unique plan ID for the subscription. |
Yes |
B099ABCDCE-1M00000000 |
Subscription |
Dimension |
String |
Detailed name for each plan. Note that the name value is subject to change without notification and is not immutable. |
Yes |
ABC+ |
Vendor SKU |
Dimension |
String |
Associated vendor SKU of the content assets. |
Yes |
AMC_1000ML_US |
Content Type |
Dimension |
String |
Either TV or Movie. |
Yes |
TV |
Series or Movie Title |
Dimension |
String |
The title name of the content. “Series Name” if Content Type is TV; otherwise, “Movie Name”. |
Yes |
Ghostbusters |
Season Number |
Dimension |
Number |
If the Content Type is TV, then this number denotes the season number. Null if the Content Type is Movie. |
No |
1 |
Episode Number |
Dimension |
Number |
If the Content Type is TV, then this number denotes the episode number. Null if the Content Type is Movie. |
No |
1 |
Episode Name |
Dimension |
String |
The episode name of the content, if the Content Type is TV. Null if the Content Type is Movie. |
No |
Pilot |
Content Group |
Dimension |
String |
The content group that the content is streamed from, either 3P_SUBS, FREE, or PRIME. |
Yes |
3P_SUBS |
Total Number of Streams |
Measure |
Number |
Total number of unique valid streams generated in the reporting period for the content and subscription plan. |
No |
1513 |
Total Customers Streamed |
Measure |
Number |
Total number of unique customers that streamed the content through the subscription plan in the reporting period. |
No |
1020 |
Total Minutes Streamed |
Measure |
Decimal |
Sum of minutes streamed in the reporting period for the non-ad content through the subscription plan. |
No |
44121.43 |
Total Ad Minutes Streamed |
Measure |
Decimal |
Sum of minutes streamed in the reporting period for the ad content through the subscription plan. |
No |
44121.43 |
Contractual Live Streaming Usage report
This report compiles weekly and monthly viewership for both live and linear events.
The attributes shown in a Contractual Live Streaming Usage report are defined in the following table.
Attribute name |
Attribute type |
Data type |
Definition |
Required? |
Sample |
Report Start |
Dimension |
Date |
Start date of the report—Inclusive. |
Yes |
10/11/2020 |
Report End |
Dimension |
Date |
End date of the report—Inclusive. |
Yes |
10/18/2020 |
Offer ID |
Dimension |
String |
The unique plan ID for the subscription. |
Yes |
B099ABCDCE-1M00000000 |
Subscription |
Dimension |
String |
Detailed name for each plan. Note that the name value is subject to change without notification and is not immutable. |
Yes |
ABC+ |
Live Channel ID |
Dimension |
String |
Unique ID for the live channel. |
Yes |
amzn1.dv.gti.4e9fdac8-1793-42fv-a7a2-cbf933201b7 |
Channel Name |
Dimension |
String |
The name of the live channel in the subscription plan. |
Yes |
ABC Channel |
Total Number of Streams |
Measure |
Number |
Total number of unique valid streams generated in the reporting period for the content and subscription plan. |
No |
685 |
Total Customers Streamed |
Measure |
Number |
Total number of unique customers that streamed the live content in the reporting period through the subscription plan. |
No |
398 |
Total Minutes Streamed |
Measure |
Decimal |
Sum of minutes streamed for the live content in the reporting period through the subscription plan. |
No |
50648.213 |
Total Ad Minutes Streamed |
Measure |
Decimal |
Sum of minutes streamed in the reporting period for the ad content through the subscription plan. |
No |
44121.43 |
Episode Name |
Dimension |
String |
The episode name of the content, if TV. Null if the content is Movie. |
No |
Pilot |
Contractual Conversion and Retention report
This weekly or monthly report shows, from launch, the initial conversion and 12-month retention numbers per offer.
The attributes shown in a Contractual Conversion and Retention report are defined in the following table.
Attribute name |
Attribute type |
Data type |
Definition |
Required? |
Sample |
Subscription Start Period (SSP) |
Dimension |
Date-Year |
The start month for the cohort of customers represented by this Offer ID. |
Yes |
11/30/2021 |
Offer ID |
Dimension |
String |
The unique plan ID for the subscription. |
Yes |
B099ABCDCE-1M00000000 |
Offer Name |
Dimension |
String |
Detailed name for each plan. Note that the name value is subject to change without notification and is not immutable. |
Yes |
ABC+ |
Billing Type Code |
Dimension |
String |
The billing type code of the subscription plan, either Free Trial (FT) or Hard Offer (HO). |
Yes |
FT |
Total Starts |
Measure |
Number |
Total number of signups for the subscription plan within the month, including the SSP. |
Yes |
29753 |
FT Conversion |
Measure |
Percentage |
Calculated as the percentage of total signups since SSP that converted from FT to HO. |
No |
75.9 |
Month 1 Retention |
Measure |
Percentage |
Calculated as the percentage of total signups since SSP that are retained from Month 0 to Month 1. |
No |
50.5 |
Month 2 Retention |
Measure |
Percentage |
Calculated as the percentage of total signups since SSP that are retained from Month 1 to Month 2. |
No |
40.3 |
Month 3 Retention |
Measure |
Percentage |
Calculated as the percentage of total signups since SSP that are retained from Month 2 to Month 3. |
No |
32.7 |
Month 4 Retention |
Measure |
Percentage |
Calculated as the percentage of total signups since SSP that are retained from Month 3 to Month 4. |
No |
26.9 |
Month 5 Retention |
Measure |
Percentage |
Calculated as the percentage of total signups since SSP that are retained from Month 4 to Month 5. |
No |
22.5 |
Month 6 Retention |
Measure |
Percentage |
Calculated as the percentage of total signups since SSP that are retained from Month 5 to Month 6. |
No |
19.4 |
Month 7 Retention |
Measure |
Percentage |
Calculated as the percentage of total signups since SSP that are retained from Month 6 to Month 7. |
No |
16.5 |
Month 8 Retention |
Measure |
Percentage |
Calculated as the percentage of total signups since SSP that are retained from Month 7 to Month 8. |
No |
14.1 |
Month 9 Retention |
Measure |
Percentage |
Calculated as the percentage of total signups since SSP that are retained from Month 8 to Month 9. |
No |
11.6 |
Month 10 Retention |
Measure |
Percentage |
Calculated as the percentage of total signups since SSP that are retained from Month 9 to Month 10. |
No |
9.4 |
Month 11 Retention |
Measure |
Percentage |
Calculated as the percentage of total signups since SSP that are retained from Month 10 to Month 11. |
No |
7.8 |
Month 12 Retention |
Measure |
Percentage |
Calculated as the percentage of total signups since SSP that are retained from Month 11 to Month 12. |
No |
6.5 |
Premium Device-Level Viewership report
This report shows weekly or monthly viewership data, aggregated by the platform the customer was viewing content on. (This data can be replicated using the Persistent Customer ID Video On Demand report.)
The attributes shown in a Premium Device-Level Viewership report are defined in the following table.
Attribute name |
Attribute type |
Data type |
Definition |
Required? |
Sample |
Report Start |
Dimension |
Date |
Start date of the report—Inclusive. |
Yes |
10/6/2018 |
Report End |
Dimension |
Date |
End date of the report—Inclusive. |
Yes |
10/13/2018 |
Offer Id |
Dimension |
String |
A unique plan ID for the subscription. |
Yes |
B099ABCDCE-1M00000000 |
Subscription |
Dimension |
String |
Detailed name for each plan. Note that the name value is subject to change without notification and is not immutable. |
Yes |
ABC+ |
Vendor SKU |
Dimension |
String |
Associated vendor SKU of the content assets. |
Yes |
AMC_1000ML_US |
Content Type |
Dimension |
String |
Either TV or Movie. |
Yes |
TV |
Series or Movie Title |
Dimension |
String |
The title name of the content. “Series Name” if Content Type is TV; otherwise, “Movie Name”. |
Yes |
Ghostbusters |
Season Number |
Dimension |
Number |
If the Content Type is TV, then this number denotes the season number. Null if the Content Type is Movie. |
No |
1 |
Episode Number |
Dimension |
Number |
If the Content Type is TV, then this number denotes the episode number. Null if the Content Type is Movie. |
No |
1 |
Episode Name |
Dimension |
String |
The episode name of the content, if the Content Type is TV. Null if the Content Type is Movie. |
No |
Pilot |
Content Group |
Dimension |
String |
The content group that the content is streamed from, either 3P_SUBS, FREE, or PRIME. |
Yes |
3P_SUBS |
Total Number of Streams |
Measure |
Number |
Total number of unique valid streams generated in the reporting period for the content and subscription plan. |
No |
1513 |
Total Customers Streamed |
Measure |
Number |
Total number of unique customers that streamed the content through the subscription plan in the reporting period. |
No |
1020 |
Total Minutes Streamed |
Measure |
Decimal |
Sum of minutes streamed in the reporting period for the non-ad content through the subscription plan. |
No |
44121.43 |
Total Ad Minutes Streamed |
Measure |
Decimal |
Sum of minutes streamed in the reporting period for the ad content through the subscription plan. |
No |
44121.43 |
Premium Engagement Scorecard report
This report shows a variety of engagement data, including subscription lengths and cancellations, active subscriptions, the average number of content assets streamed by type, and how the number of streamers and streams compare on weekends versus weekdays.
The attributes shown in a Premium Engagement Scorecard report are defined in the following table.
Attribute name |
Attribute type |
Data type |
Definition |
Required? |
Sample |
Report Start |
Dimension |
Date |
Start date of the report—Inclusive. |
Yes |
11/1/21 |
Report End |
Dimension |
Date |
End date of the report—Inclusive. |
Yes |
11/30/21 |
Subscription |
Dimension |
String |
Detailed name for each plan. Note that the name value is subject to change without notification and is not immutable. |
Yes |
Discovery+ Ad-Supported |
Length of Subscription |
Dimension |
String |
Total length of the subscription in months, with a minimum of 1 month and maximum of 12+ months |
Yes |
0-1months |
Content Group |
Dimension |
String |
The offer group with which the customer streamed the content, such as FREE or 3P_SUBS. |
Yes |
3P_SUBS |
Paid Subscriptions |
Measure |
Number |
Total active Hard Offer (HO) subscriptions in the reporting period. |
Yes |
161435 |
Cancellations |
Measure |
Number |
Total number of HO subscriptions that are cancelled by the end of the reporting period. |
No |
27656 |
Active Subscriptions |
Measure |
Number |
Total number of Paid/HO customers that have been active in the last 30 days. |
No |
129676 |
Streamers |
Measure |
Number |
Number of unique customers with Paid/HO subscriptions that streamed in the reporting period. |
No |
129673 |
Streams |
Measure |
Number |
Number of customers with Paid/HO subscriptions that streamed in the reporting period. |
No |
129673 |
Weekend Streams |
Measure |
Number |
Number of unique customers with Paid/HO subscriptions that streamed during the weekends of the reporting period. |
No |
3437751 |
Weekday Streams |
Measure |
Number |
Number of unique customers with Paid/HO subscriptions that streamed during the weekdays of the reporting period. |
No |
1075905 |
Average Number of Titles |
Measure |
Number |
Average number of titles customers with Paid/HO subscriptions streamed in the reporting period. |
No |
2361846 |
Average Number of Episodes |
Measure |
Number |
Average number of episodes customers with Paid/HO subscriptions streamed in the reporting period. |
No |
4.6 |
Average Number of Movies |
Measure |
Number |
Average number of movies customers with Paid/HO subscriptions streamed in the reporting period. |
No |
18.6 |
VOD Hours Streamed |
Measure |
Decimal |
Sum of hours all customers with Paid/HO subscriptions streamed non-ad content in the reporting period. |
No |
23342.23 |
VOD Ad Hours Streamed |
Measure |
Decimal |
Sum of hours all customers with Paid/HO subscriptions streamed ads in the reporting period. |
No |
34.2 |
Premium First-and-Last VOD Title report
This report compiles data about which titles customers chose to stream and when (such as during a free trial period), and whether those streams coincided with a conversion to a subscription offer.
The attributes shown in a Premium First-and-Last VOD Title report are defined in the following table.
Attribute name |
Attribute type |
Data type |
Definition |
Required? |
Sample |
Report Start |
Dimension |
Date |
Start date of the report—Inclusive. |
Yes |
11/29/2021 |
Report End |
Dimension |
Date |
End date of the report—Inclusive. |
Yes |
12/5/2021 |
Benefit Name |
Dimension |
String |
Detailed name for each plan. Note that the name value is subject to change without notification and is not immutable. |
Yes |
ABC+ |
Stream Type |
Dimension |
String |
Classification between Video On Demand (VOD) or Live streams. |
Yes |
VOD |
Content Type |
Dimension |
String |
Either TV or Movie. |
Yes |
TV |
Platform |
Dimension |
String |
The device type with which the customer streamed the content. The devices are categorized by the Prime Video Playback team as “Living Room Devices”, “Mobile Devices”, “Web”, or “Others”. |
Yes |
Living Room Devices |
Vendor SKU |
Dimension |
Varchar |
Associated vendor SKU of the content assets. |
Yes |
103469_013_US |
Series or Movie Name |
Dimension |
Number |
The title name of the content. “Series Name” if Content Type is TV; otherwise, “Movie Name”. |
Yes |
How It’s Made |
Season Number |
Dimension |
Number |
If the Content Type is TV, this number denotes the season number. Null if the Content Type is Movie. |
No |
1 |
FT First Title Streamed |
Measure |
Number |
Total number of Free Trial (FT) customers who streamed the content as their first title with the new subscription. |
No |
|
HO First Title Streamed |
Measure |
Number |
Total number of “direct to Hard Offer (HO)” customers who streamed the content as their first title with the new subscription. |
No |
87 |
Conversion First Title Streamed |
Measure |
Number |
Total number of customers in the reporting period who streamed the content after converting their subscription from FT to HO. |
No |
9 |
Last Title Streamed |
Measure |
Number |
Total number of customers in the reporting period who streamed the content as their last title with the subscription. |
No |
1 |
AR-Off Last Title Streamed |
Measure |
Number |
Total number of customers in the reporting period who streamed the content as their last title before turning off Auto-Renew (AR). |
No |
20 |
Percentage of Total Conversions |
Measure |
Decimal |
Percentage of Conversion First Title Streamed customers out of the total conversions in the reporting period. |
No |
.323 |
Percentage of Total Cancels |
Measure |
Decimal |
Percentage of Last Title Streamed customers out of the total cancellations in the reporting period. |
No |
.344 |
Persistent-ID Subscriptions report
This report shows a transactional record when a customer:
- goes Active and gains entitlement to Channel content
OR - is Cancelled and loses entitlement to content
No other statuses (such as Suspended, Winback, or Converted) are currently captured in this report.
The attributes shown in a Persistent-ID Subscriptions report are defined in the following table.
Attribute name |
Attribute type |
Data type |
Definition |
Required? |
Sample |
Report Date |
Dimension |
Date-Year |
Start date of the report—Inclusive |
Yes |
12/11/2021 |
Marketplace |
Dimension |
String |
The marketplace ID in which the stream was generated. |
Yes |
US |
Customer ID |
Dimension |
String |
Encrypted ID of the customer that streamed the content. |
Yes |
amzn1.account.AFQJKDJYJVJL4VPNEFIV43BTSIJQ |
Offer |
Dimension |
String |
A unique plan ID for the subscrption. |
Yes |
B08ZYRH8JR-1M00000000 |
Billing Type |
Dimension |
String |
The category of the subscription plan, either Free Trial (FT) or Hard Offer (HO). |
Yes |
HO |
Payment Amount |
Dimension |
Decimal |
The billing amount of the Offer ID. |
Yes |
4.99 |
Status |
Measure |
String |
Status of the subscription for the customer on the Report Date. |
Yes |
Active |
Status Start Time |
Dimension |
Number |
Start time for the status. |
No |
12/11/2021 12:20 |
Status End Time |
Dimension |
Number |
End time for the status. |
No |
|
Subscription |
Dimension |
String |
Detailed name for each plan. Note that the name value is subject to change without notification and is not immutable. |
No |
ABC+ |
Persistent-ID Viewership report
This is a version of the daily anonymized report, but is vended with all the data in a month. Note that, if you download it from the front end, it’s usually impossible to open because there is too much data.
The attributes shown in a Persistent-ID Viewership report are defined in the following table.
Attribute name |
Attribute type |
Data type |
Definition |
Required? |
Sample |
Report Start |
Dimension |
Date |
Start date of the report—Inclusive. |
Yes |
12/11/2021 |
Report End |
Dimension |
Date |
End date of the report—Inclusive. |
Yes |
12/12/2021 |
Marketplace ID |
Dimension |
Number |
The marketplace ID in which the stream was generated. |
Yes |
1 |
Marketplace Description |
Dimension |
String |
The marketplace in which the stream was generated. |
Yes |
US |
Offer ID |
Dimension |
Varchar |
A unique plan ID for the subscription. |
Yes |
B08ZYRH8JR-0M00000000 |
Offer Name |
Dimension |
String |
Detailed name for each plan. Note that the name value is subject to change without notification and is not immutable. |
Yes |
Discovery+ Ad-Supported |
Encrypted Customer ID |
Dimension |
Varchar |
Encrypted ID of the customer that streamed the content. |
Yes |
amzn1.account.AEIAVT2KITOQR5GCCLBCG2O |
Stream Start Timestamp |
Dimension |
Date |
Stream datetime. |
Yes |
12/11/2021 12:20 |
Connection Type |
Dimension |
String |
Connection used by the customer to stream the content. |
No |
unknown |
Stream Type |
Dimension |
String |
Classification between Video-On-Demand (VOD) or Live streams. |
Yes |
VOD |
Device Class |
Dimension |
String |
The device type with which the customer streamed the content. The devices are categorized by the Prime Video Playback team as “Living Room Devices”, “Mobile Devices”, “Web”, or “Others”. |
No |
Living Room Devices |
Device Subclass |
Dimension |
String |
Granular categorization of the Mobile, Living Room, and Web devices |
No |
Game Console |
DMA Geography |
Dimension |
Number |
The 3-digit Geography Designated Market Area (DMA) of the area where the stream was generated. |
No |
539 |
Playback Method |
Dimension |
String |
Playback method used for the stream. |
Yes |
online |
Seconds Viewed |
Measure |
Decimal |
Total number of seconds viewed by the customer in the session (of non-ad content). |
Yes |
2860.819 |
Ad Seconds Viewed |
Measure |
Decimal |
Total number of seconds viewed by the customer (of ad content). |
Yes |
342 |
Content Type |
Dimension |
String |
Either TV or Movie. |
No |
TV |
Title Name |
Dimension |
String |
The name of the content. “Series Name” if Content Type is TV; otherwise, “Movie Name”. |
Yes |
My 600-lb Life |
Season Number |
Dimension |
String |
If the Content Type is TV, then this number denotes the season number. Null if the Content Type is Movie. |
No |
2 |
Episode Number |
Dimension |
String |
If the Content Type is TV, then this number denotes the episode number. Null if the Content Type is Movie. |
No |
1 |
Studio Name |
Dimension |
String |
The name of the production studio. |
Yes |
discovery plus Journeys |
Runtime Minutes |
Dimension |
Number |
Runtime of the content viewed. |
No |
42 |
Live/Linear Channel Name |
Dimension |
String |
The channel name would be populated for Live content. |
No |
|
Vendor SKU |
Dimension |
String |
Associated vendor SKU of the content assets. |
No |
139426_001_US |
Content Group |
Dimension |
String |
The group that the content is streamed from, either 3P_SUBS, FREE, or PRIME. |
Yes |
3P_SUBS |
Metrics definitions
The calculations in this section outline how Prime Video Channels (PVC) defines 9 of the key metrics used to evaluate subscription performance. All metrics are derived using the monthly version of the standard Contractual Subscriptions report in Slate, as shown in the following partial example.
A |
B |
C |
D |
E |
F |
G |
H |
I |
J |
K |
L |
|
1 |
Report |
Report |
Report |
Offer |
Sub- |
Billing |
Subscription |
Active |
Month End |
New |
Cancelled |
AR Off |
2 |
2022 |
5/1/22 |
5/31/22 |
ABC |
SQUARERT-1 |
0 |
FT |
132455 |
43023 |
139450 |
17382 |
4523 |
3 |
2022 |
5/1/22 |
5/31/22 |
DEF |
SQUARERT-4 |
8.99 |
HO |
62304 |
30203 |
0 |
1386 |
422 |
4 |
2022 |
5/1/22 |
5/31/22 |
GHI |
SQUARERT-9 |
8.99 |
HO |
1327735 |
1258343 |
24385 |
75849 |
13403 |
The numbered sections cover step-by-step instructions on how to calculate the key metrics using the CSV export provided by Slate. (For additional information, see the Daily Anonymized report FAQs at the bottom of this page.)
Summary of metrics
Section |
Metrics |
Sample partner |
Formula |
1 |
EOP Paid(HO) subs |
1,288,546 |
SUM[Month End Subscriptions with Subscription type HO] |
2 |
Paid (HO) Cancels |
77,235 |
SUM[Cancelled Subscriptions with Subscription type HO] |
3 |
Churn rate |
6% |
SUM[Cancelled Subscriptions with Subscription Category HO]/ |
4 |
FT starts |
139,450 |
SUM[New Subscriptions with Subscription type FT] |
5 |
HO starts |
24,385 |
SUM[New Subscriptions with Subscription type HO] - (Direct-To-Pay + Winbacks) |
6 |
Total starts |
163,835 |
SUM[New Subscriptions] - FT Starts + Direct-To-Pay + Winbacks |
7 |
Eop Conversion Ft→HO |
95,718 |
FT-to-HO converts (not included in the Amazon report) = |
8 |
Conversion rate |
85% |
[EOP Conversions]/([EOP Conversions] + [FT Cancels]) |
9 |
Net Adds |
42,868 |
SUM[New Subscriptions with Subscription type HO] + EOP Conversions - Paid (HO) Cancels |
Section 1: End of Period (EOP) Paid Hard Offer (HO) Subs
HO subscriptions for the End of Period can be calculated by summing the Month End Subscriptions that have a Subscription Category of HO.
- Identify each row with HO as the Subscription Category.
In this example, Column G - Rows 3 and 4 fit this criteria. Sum the Month End Subscriptions for the rows that have been identified.
In this example, in Column I, sum just I3 and I4.The formula looks like this:
EOP Paid Hard Offer Subscriptions = Total [Month End Subscriptions] where [Subscription Category] is “HO”In an Excel report, the highlighted cells would be summed.
This example calculation of EOP Paid (HO) subs = 30,203 + 1,258,343 = 1,288,546
Section 2: EOP Paid Hard Offer (HO) Cancels
Hard Offer cancellations for the End of Period can be calculated by summing the Cancelled Subscriptions that have a Subscription Category of HO.
- Identify each row with HO as the Subscription Category.
In this example, Column G - Rows 3 and 4 fit this criteria. Sum the Cancelled Subscriptions for the rows that have been identified.
In this example, in Column K, sum just K3 and K4.The formula looks like this:
EOP Paid (HO) Cancels = Total [Cancelled Subscriptions] where [Subscription Category] is “HO”In an Excel report, the highlighted cells would be summed.
This example calculation of Paid (HO) Cancels = 1,386 + 75,849 = 77,235
Section 3: Churn rate
Churn rate can be shown as the ratio of cancellations in relation to overall subscription changes.
- Identify each row with HO as the Subscription Category.
In this example, Column G - Rows 3 and 4 fit this criteria. - Sum the Cancelled Subscriptions for the rows that have been identified.
In this example, in Column K, sum just K3 and K4. - Sum the Month End Subscriptions for the rows that have been identified.
In this example, for Column I, sum just J3 and J4. Put the Sum of Cancelled Subscriptions in the numerator and the Sum of Month End Subscriptions and Cancelled Subscriptions in the denominator. Multiply by 100 to obtain the percentage.
The formula looks like this:
Churn Rate = (Total [Cancelled Subscriptions])/(Total [Month End Subscriptions]+Total [Cancelled Subscriptions]) where Subscription Category is “HO”
In the following Excel report, the fields highlighted in yellow are the Month End Subscriptions to be summed. The fields highlighted in blue are the Cancelled Subscriptions to be summed.
In the provided example, the churn rate is calculated as:
(1,386 + 75,849)/(30,203 + 1,258,343) + (1,386 + 75,849) = 0.06
Churn rate is normally depicted as a percent: 0.06 * 100 = 6%
Section 4: Free Trial (FT) starts
Free Trial starts can be calculated by summing the New Subscriptions that have a Subscription Category of FT.
- Identify each row with FT as the Subscription Category.
In this example, Column G - Row 2 fits this criteria. Sum the New Subscriptions for the rows that have been identified.
In this example, in Column J, only J2 fits the criteria. (Normally, this would be the sum of any rows that met the criteria of FT.)The formula looks like this:
FT Starts = Total [New Subscriptions] where [Subscription Category] is “FT”In an Excel report, the highlighted cells would be summed.
In the provided example, since only one cell is categorized as FT, the total FT starts = 139,450
Section 5: Hard Offer (HO) Starts
HO starts can be calculated by summing the New Subscriptions that have a Subscription Category of HO.
- Identify each row with HO as the Subscription Category.
In this example, Column G - Rows 3 and 4 fit this criteria. Sum the New Subscriptions for the rows that have been identified.
In this example, in Column J, sum just J3 and J4.The formula looks like this:
HO Starts = Total [New Subscriptions] where [Subscription Category] is “HO”In an Excel report, the highlighted cells would be summed.
This example of HO starts is calculated as 0 + 24,385 = 24,385
Section 6: Total starts
To calculate total starts using the standard Contractual Subscriptions monthly report:
Sum the New Subscriptions column, regardless of Subscription Category.
In this example, sum all 3 cells in Column J.The formula looks like this:
Total Starts = Total [New Subscriptions]In an Excel report, the highlighted cells would be summed.
This example of total starts is calculated as 139,450 + 0 + 24,385 = 63,835
Section 7: End-of-period (EOP) conversions
For EOP conversions, Prime Video Channels extracts Free Trial (FT) to Hard Offer (HO) subscriptions. EOP HO subscriptions + HO cancellations provides the total HO subs that have been active in the period. Subtracting EOP HO subscriptions (from the previous period) and HO new subscriptions (that do not include FT to HO conversions) then provides the total number of conversions.
To calculate EOP conversions using the standard Contractual Subscriptions monthly report:
- Calculate EOP HO subscriptions as shown in Section 1 above, using the current period under review.
- Using the previous period’s data, use Section 1 again to calculate the previous period’s EOP HO subscriptions.
- Using Section 2 as shown above with the current period’s data, compute the HO cancellations.
- Using Section 5, compute the HO new subscriptions.
Plug these 4 necessary variables into the EOP conversions equation.
The formula looks like this:
[EOP HO Subscriptions (Current)] - [EOP HO Subscriptions (Previous)] + [HO Cancellations] - [HO New Subscriptions]
Using the totals from the examples in this section, the end result for EOP conversions looks like this:
- From Section 1: EOP paid (HO) subs = 1,288,546
- Provided for this example, using Calculation 1: Previous EOP Paid (HO) subs = 1,245,678
- From Section 2: EOP paid (HO) cancels = 77,235
- From Section 5: HO starts = 24,385
- Example calculation of EOP conversions/Section 7 = 1,288,546 – 1,245,678 + 77,235 – 24,385 = 95,718
The following color key and screenshot identify the four calculations in this formula.
[EOP HO Subscriptions (Current)] |
- |
[EOP HO Subscriptions (Previous)] |
+ |
[HO Cancellations] |
- |
[HO New Subscriptions] |
Section 8: Conversion rate
Conversion rate can be evaluated as the conversions at the end of period in relation to the eligible Free Trial (FT) subscriptions.
To calculate conversion rate using the standard Contractual Subscriptions monthly report:
- Compute the end-of-period (EOP) conversions using Section 7 above.
- Compute the FT cancels using Section 4 above.
- Divide the two values using the EOP conversions as the numerator and the sum of EOP conversions and FT cancels as the denominator.
The formula looks like this:
Conversion Rate = [EOP Conversions] / ([EOP Conversions] + [FT Cancels])
Using the totals from the examples in this section, the end result for conversion rate looks like this:
- From Section 7 above: EOP conversions = 95,718
- From Section 4 above: FT cancels = 17,382
- Example calculation of conversion rate: 95,718 / (95,718 - 17,382) = .85 * 100 = 85%
Section 9: Net adds
Net adds can be defined by taking the total number of Hard Offer (HO) and Free Trial (FT) starts and subtracting all HO Cancels.
To calculate net adds using the standard Contractual Subscriptions monthly report:
- Compute the total HO starts using the formula in Section 5.
- Compute the number of end-of-period (EOP) conversions using the formula in Section 7.
- Compute the number of paid (HO) cancellations using the formula in Section 2.
Subtract the number of HO cancellations from the total in step 3.
The formula looks like this:
Net Adds = [HO Starts] + [EOP Conversions] - [HO Cancels]
Using the totals from the examples in this section, the end result for net adds looks like this:
- From Section 5 above: HO starts = 24,385
- From Section 7 above: EOP conversions = 95,718
- From Section 2 above: EOP paid (HO) cancels = 77,235
- Example calculation of net adds: 24,385 + 95,718 - 77,235 = 42,868
Daily Anonymized report (DAR) FAQs
This section covers nuances of using daily Subscription reports, which contain unsettled data, versus available weekly and monthly reports. For details about using the weekly and monthly reports to effectively calculate key metrics and ensure greater data fidelity, see the Metrics definitions section above.